International Workshop on Situation Aware Computing


Situation-aware computing is an emerging computation paradigm for achieving automatic awareness of environmental elements, recognizing their meaning in a particular situation. A number of situation-aware systems have been developed that can dynamically adapt to changing environments; however, the level of situation awareness of web-based services and systems is still low, as the vast majority of existing approaches do not take into account any situational information integrated or infused from various kinds of sensors including that from mobile phone or wearable computers. The SACOM workshop aims to bring together researchers with wide-ranging backgrounds to identify important research questions, to exchange ideas from different research disciplines, and, more generally, to facilitate discussion and innovation in the area of web-based situation-aware computing.

Topics for the workshop include, but are not limited to:

  • E-collaboration
  • Personalized e-commerce
  • Adaptive and Personalized e-learning, m-learning and u-learning
  • Context-specific situation based reasoning
  • Mixed-reality initiatives Dialog systems
  • Recommendation Systems
  • Semantic services for mobile users
  • General semantic approaches and their applications
  • Multi-sensor fusion systems
  • Real-time multi-sensor integration
  • Real-time emergency response systems

Workshop Co-Chairs

Tetsuo Shinozaki, Tokyo Denki University, Japan
Yukino Ikegami, Tokyo Denki University, Japan

Publicity and Liaison Chair

Takashi, Kawabe Tokyo Denki University, JAPAN

Program Committee

Albert Dipanda, University of Bourgogne, France
Chbeir Richard, University of Bourgogne, France
Kokou Yetongnon, University of Bourgogne, France
Alejandro Peña Ayala, Mexico Institute of Technology, Mexico
Avelino Gonzalez, University of Central Florida, USA
Vincent Oria, Virginia Institute of Technology, US
Knauf Rainer, Technical University of Ilmenau, Germany
Ernesto Damiani, Università di Milano, Italy
Marco Anisetti, Università di Milano, Italy
Valerio Bellandi, Università di Milano, Italy
Gerald Schaefer, Loughborough University, UK
Atsuo Yoshitaka, JAIST, Japan
Hajime Kita, Kyoto University, Japan
Hiroyuki Mori, Meiji University, Japan
Hiroyasu Nishiyama, Hitachi, Japan 
Takashi Onoyama, Hitachi Solutions, Japan
Yoshitaka Sakurai, Meiji University, Japan
Sabrina Senatore, Università di Salerno, Italy
Mario Doeller, University of Passau, Germany
Nadia Bennani, INSA-Lyon, France